A new direction: episode 2

Two eyes are better than one
Yes, but I didn’t realise how much better. I knew that 3D vision would be affected, but I thought it would be easy to correct. Yet even now, over a year later, I still ‘miss’ when I reach for a railing—going down steps for instance; and bumpy ground looks flatter than it is. This makes me feel insecure—especially after I nearly fell out of the car when I reached to pull the door closed and missed! One day I fell at the bottom of some concrete steps when I mistook the final step for ground level. Luckily, I didn’t hurt myself.

My independence was restricted. Apart from the big one of not being able to drive, I didn’t feel confident to go out on my own at all, as crossing roads and getting on public transport was a challenge. 

Still, my handicap was minor in the global scale of things, so I decided to focus on what I could do. 

Take photographs, for example. This wasn’t as comfortable as before, and I had more shots out-of-focus than usual. But I managed.

About this time I felt inspired to follow (feebly) in the steps of great environmental artists like Nils-Udo and Andy Goldsworthy, who tamper with nature in such a way that it almost looks as though nature might have been responsible. 

Along with my friends in The CAN Company (a small group of book artists) I joined in a project to produce a calendar of images that depicted our attempts to ‘fiddle’ gently with nature. 

Image
The CAN Company at work

Image
Image
ImageSamples of my work (the last is a ‘found bird’ on a piece of driftwood)

The completed calendar
Image

Maybe not Nils Udo quality, but we were pretty pleased with ourselves and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

One thought on “A new direction: episode 2

  1. Wow, awesome blog format! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The full look of your site is
    magnificent, as well as the content!

Leave a Reply

