Creative spirit on vacation

I’m afraid my blog is not living up to its tagline. I’m not doing much to free my creative spirit these days. I’m too preoccupied with trying to make a living. How can I call myself an ‘artist’ when I rarely create any art? I don’t even know what art I want to create. There are just too many things to do, and I have too many interests, and I’m too disorganised … that’s a lot of ‘toos’.

I have a suspicion this is all avoidance tactics stemming from a fear of testing myself, and wanting the things I put out there to be perfect. I’m constantly warning others about the pitfalls of so-called perfection, but I don’t apply it to myself.

I’ll try to do better.

So how can I make this blog more meaningful, without spending too much time on it?

Why, post imperfect artworks of course. Let’s not even think of them as ‘artworks’ but  as exercises in freeing my creative spirit.

Here we are then—one of my analog drawings, which take almost no time to produce, but often tell me a lot. This one was drawn on one of my more orderly, self-contained days it would seem. I try not to ‘think’ while doing the drawings.

doodle-2191

Leave a Reply

