Aussie possum

Just made a delightful discovery.

Recently I’d been mystified because a container on top of one of my cupboards on the verandah kept catching on the door and nearly falling down every time I opened the door. I’d pushed it back repeatedly so that this didn’t happen, but a short while ago when I pushed it back I felt a resistance. And there, peeping at me with startled eyes from between two containers was …………

Aussiepossum_1

It’s not a great photo, I know, but I didn’t want to startle him/her with the flash.

In case you don’t recognise it, it’s an Australian native possum (a brushtail, I think, but I couldn’t see his tail) … they’re sweeter than the American variety I think. This one is quite young.

So, not only do I have Australian native flora on the verandah, but fauna too.

3 thoughts on “Aussie possum

  1. There’s nothing the least bit “sweet” about American possums. They’re big, ugly critters that most people never see except as roadkill or unless they find one asleep in the bottom of a garbage can.

    Not cute like yours is. Trust me.

  2. So I’ve heard. Australian possums are totally charming … to people anyway, though they are sometimes quite nasty to each other. They also have a habit of galumping (is that a word) over roofs at night (their playtime). As old Queensland houses like ours have galvanised iron roofs, they sound like a herd of elephants.

  3. On occasion an American possum has lumbered around the corner of my house (in Virginia) at night. Frankly, they’re kind of creepy. Nothing like your little cutie.

Leave a Reply

